Microsoft Dynamics Blog

Welcome to Armanino’s Microsoft Dynamics Blog, where you’ll find information on topics across Microsoft Dynamics 365 ERP and CRM, Dynamics GP, Power BI, PowerApps, Flow and more. Use these tips, tricks and insights to get the most out of your applications! Want these articles delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to our newsletter below.

Monday, December 29, 2014

Avoiding Accidental Dynamics GP Batch Deletion

Posted by Greg Horner

It is important to avoid accidentally deleting batches within Microsoft Dynamics GP. Below is a quick how-to guide for circumventing this potential issue and ensuring Dynamics GP batches are only deleted when intended.

When we implement Dynamics GP for companies, we sometimes recommend un-checking the following box (Deletion of Saved Transactions) in the general ledger setup window.

Avoiding Accidental Dynamics GP Batch Deletion

This prevents users from inadvertently deleting batches – definitely a good idea!  Now, when bringing up a batch, the ‘Delete’ button will be greyed out.

Avoiding Accidental Dynamics GP Batch Deletion

It’s still possible to get to the navigation lists and see the same list of batches.

Avoiding Accidental Dynamics GP Batch Deletion

Even though the ‘deletion of saved batches’ is un-checked in the general ledger setup window, one can still go here to delete the batch.

Avoiding Accidental Dynamics GP Batch Deletion

This can, however, be problematic because when a batch is deleted from the navigation lists, a record is created in the SY00800 table in the DYNAMICS database and there will be issues if ever this batch name is used again. An easy solution to avoid potential future issues is to remember to delete the record from the SY00800 table.

Find more Dynamics GP tips and tricks within the Armanino Dynamics blog and consider upgrading to the latest version of Dynamics GP today.

COMMENTS

comments powered by Disqus
« | »